Wings of the Tern Blog

October 29, 2010

Astronomy

Filed under: Current Posting — wingsofthetern @ 4:18 pm

I mention in my book about my childhood interest in Astronomy.  After I lost my initial telescope in a fire during my time in college, I went without for many years.

Alaska was not a good place for star gazing.  During the summer it was always light out and during the winter too cold for standing outside looking into a telescope.  Also, the ice crystals in the air are, effectively, just like smog in blocking the  stars.

When I moved to Fresno and remarried, I got back into the hobby with the purchase of a 10” Mead telescope.  Over the years I improved on my star gazing with the addition of an astronomy tent with a opening in the ceiling, and finally a backyard Observatory.  I updated the telescope with the adding of a newtonian mount and finally a permanent pier for it to be mounted on.

Last month, I retired the old 10” and purchased a new 12” computerized telescope.  I try to have it open each Wed evening for the neighbors to drop by and enjoy the night sky with me.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

